The Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas is a ministry of the Government of India accorded with the sole responsibility for the production, refining, marketing, import, export and conversion of petroleum, natural gas and liquefied gas in India.

This ministry is headed by the Cabinet Minister, the Minister of Petroleum and Natural gas who is Dharmendra Pradhan at present. Before him, other prominent political leaders held the position as stipulated below:

About Dharmendra Pradhan

Dharmendra Pradhan was born on 26 June 1969 in Talcher district of Angul, Odisha. He has a Masters in Anthropology from Utkal University in Odisha. Pradhan is a husband to one wife, a father of two and the son of the former Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MP, Dr. Debendra Pradhan:

His involvement in politics started when he became a member of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). In the year 1985, he was elected president of the Talcher College Student’s Union where he actively participated in the students’ movements in Odisha. This saw him elected the national secretary of ABVP and later of Bhartiya Janata Yuva Morcha from years 2004 – 2006. Here, he participated in campaigns related to reservations on the basis of religion.

In 2004, Dharmendra Pradhan won the Lok Sabha elections from the constituency although this was not the case for the subsequent elections. Nevertheless, Pradhan is one man who has attained quite a lot of positions during his political journey career.

May 2014 saw him take an oath as the Minister of state –with independent charge, for Petroleum and Natural Gas. His political achievements can be summarized as:

  • Minister of State(Independent), 2014 onwards
  • Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha), Bihar: 2012-2018
  • Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha): 2004 to 2009 · Deogarh, Odisha, India
  • Bharatiya Janata Party All India General Secretary - 2010 to present
  • In-charge BJP Karnataka: 2011 to 2013
  • Co-Incharge - BJP Bihar: 2010 to present - State Elections
  • In-charge Bharatiya Janta Yuva Morcha (BJYM): 2010 to present
  • In-Charge BJP Jharkhand: Election in Charge Uttarakhand
  • Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha National President: 2004 to 2006
  • Bharatiya Janata Party: National Secretary · 2007 to 2010
  • In-charge Chhatisgarh: 2007 to 2010
  • In-charge - BJP Bihar: 2013 to end
  • Other than politics, Dharmendra Pradhan is known to be a great social worker whose concern majorly lingers on the problems faced by the youths such as issues of unemployment and derailed technical education. He works for the rehabilitation of farmers and the development of the backward classes present in the communities.

    His early involvement in politics as a youth also enhances a positive mind on politics amongst the youths encouraging them to become better leaders being guided by the motivation of improving their nation.